Who are Durrington Multi Academy Trust?

We have established the Durrington Multi Academy Trust (DMAT) and Durrington High School is the lead school within our Trust, having converted to an Academy 1 April 2014. We wish to further develop links with all providers of Further and Higher education, employers and the local community.

As a successful and thriving school we were asked to expand by West Sussex and welcomed year 7 for the first time in 2015. This resulted in significant investment and enhanced facilities on our site to accommodate this new year group. At Durrington High School we expect all of our students to be active participants in a high quality learning experience, through lessons and enrichment activities.  In order to allow teachers to focus their time, efforts and energy on this, we have put the following in place:

  • We have six evidence informed pedagogical principles, that we think are important for great teaching, but how you implement them in your classroom is down to you.  If it gets great outcomes for our students, then its great teaching; we are not prescriptive as to how this is achieved.
  • We take a pragmatic approach to feedback (in terms of feedback on student work e.g. marking).  We don’t expect every piece of work to be marked every two weeks – this is not manageable or particularly useful for the teacher or student.  Each subject area has defined what type of feedback is expected, where and when, based on what works in that subject.
  • Student reports do not contain lengthy sections of prose. They simply have a grade for effort homework and progress.
  • We made the decision not to grade individual lessons before the Ofsted announcement. Lesson observations are followed on a professional developmental dialogue.
  • We have a huge variety of teacher led CPD activities happening across the school that will allow you to engage at a level that suits your needs.
  • Our NQT induction programme and appraisal programme is based on professional growth and support. Furthermore, second year teachers (RQTs) have the option of following a part funded school based master’s programme.
  • You will be working alongside people who are at the forefront of educational development, nationally and to an increasing degree, internationally.  This applies to many aspects of our work e.g. research and development, Pupil Premium Leadership and Assessment Without Levels.


Angus Watts – Chair of Durrington Multi Academy Trust


Accounting Period ending 31st August 2015

Annual Report & Financial Statements - For the Period Ended 31 August 2015


Accounting Period ending 31st August 2016

Annual Report & Financial Statements - For the Period Ended 31 August 2016

Additional Documentation

EFA Funding Agreement for the period 1st September 2015 to 31st August 2016

EFA Funding Agreement for the period 1st September 2016 to 31st August 2017

Articles of Association of DMAT


Governance at Durrington High School 2015-2016

Durrington Multi Academy Trust (DMAT)

Mr Angus Watts – Chair of Durrington Multi Academy Trust
Mr Roy Barraclough
Brighton University

Durrington Multi Academy Trust (DMAT)
Board of Directors

Mrs Dawn Kearney – Chair of Governors
Mr Paul Noakes
Mr John Digby
Mrs Lianne Allison
Ms Sue Marooney – Headteacher

Durrington Multi Academy Trust (DMAT)

Mrs Dawn Kearney – Chair of Governors
Mr Roy Barraclough – Vice Chair
Mr Paul Noakes – Chair of Finance Committee (Parent Governor)
Mr Dave Waghorne
Cllr Robin Rogers
Mr Steve Payne
Mrs Victoria Ludlow – School improvement/data
Mrs Cath Sezen – Vulnerable and disadvantaged students (16-19 specialist)
Mr Mike Pailthorpe (Parent Governor)
Dr Brian Marsh – School improvement and research (Science and Higher education specialism)
Ms J Lee
Ms Sue Marooney – Headteacher
Mrs Sarah Dedman – Staff governor
Ms G Christie – Staff governor

Durrington High School (Multi Academy Trust Company number 8895870)
Attendance for 1 September 2015 – 31 July 2016 – maximum 6 meetings


Name Yes Apologies Absent
Angus Watts 1
Dawn Kearney 6
Roy Barraclough 4 2
David Waghorne 4 2
Paul Noakes 6
Stephen Payne 2 2 2
Robin Rogers 5 1
Mike Pailthorpe 3 1 2
Victoria Ludlow 4 1 1
Cath Sezen 3 3
Sue Marooney 6
Gail Christie 4 2
Sarah Dedman 4 2
Brian Marsh 3 2 1
James Elwood 1


During the course of this academic year the following governor(s) left the governing body

James Elwood – September 2015

Angus Watts resigned as Chair of Governors September 2015

The clerk of the governing body ensures annually that all governors comply with legislation and declare any pecuniary interests (including business and relationships with school staff) together with details if they serve on another governing body.

Any interest are shown below

Name of Governor Pecuniary Interests (including business and relationships with school staff) Serves on another governing body
None September 2015 None September 2015 None September 2015